Valadier, Giuseppe (1762-1839)

"Valadier, Giuseppe (1762-1839)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Giuseppe Valadier, Italian architect, urbanist and archeologist, was born and died in Rome in 1762-1839. He worked in Rome and other cities of the pontific state, he was one of the greatest neoclassic architects of Italy and built numerous constructions: Teatro Valle (1819); facade of the church San Rocco in Ripetta (1831), restored ancient monuemtns, among which are Ponte Milvio and Arch of Tito (1819). As an urbanist Valadier traced Via Flaminia (1805), general plan of the public access to the Imperial Fora (1811); projected the suburb of Fiumicino (1822); arranged piazza of St John Lateran; but lots of other projects remained on the paper. Valadier's most important work is Piazza del Popolo. The biggest collections of his designs and drawings were published in 1807 (Architectonic projects) and in 1833 (Works).

As you visit 'Valadier, Giuseppe (1762-1839)' you may also like following articles . . .

Casina Valadier Restaurant on the ancient Collis Hortulorum, the highest point of Pincio at Villa Borghese In Rome

Casina Valadier rises up on the ancient Collis Hortulorum, the highest point of Pincio, where in the past great Roman families owned the most sumptuous and

Ponte (Bridge) Flaminio/ Museo (Museum) Torretta Valadier, Rome

This bridge was built in 1939-51 with the pause between 1943 and 1947. It is made of reinforced cement, has seven arches and is 292m long and 40m wide. It

Ponte (Bridge) Milvio/Milvian Bridge, Rome

For the whole period of the history of Rome this bridge was particularly important being a junction of several ways: Via Flaminia, Via Cassia, Via Clodia and

Poggi, Giuseppe (1811-1901)

Giuseppe Poggi, Italian architect and urbanist was born and died in Florence in 1811-1901. Possessing the knowledge of technique and artistic taste he

Church/Chiesa di S.Rocco (San Rocco all'Augusteo), Rome

The church belongs to the Confraternity of Innkeepers and Boatmen of Ripetta, which built it in 1499. It was dedicated to a French saint St Rocco, who lived in