Villa Poniatowsky, Rome

"Villa Poniatowsky, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

It was born from the division of Villa Giulia in 1570, first as Vigna Mignanelli, then it belonged to the Gonzaga and the Cesi, by who's order Vignola created a beautiful portico and a terrace, accessed by a staircase decorated with marbles, later it was known as Villa Sinibaldi, and finally in 1781 it became a property of Polish prince Stanislao Poniatowsky, who had it completely reconstructed by G.Valadier. In that epoch it was much larger than now. The further splitting up of the villa occured in the 19th century, and the other minor villas appeared: Villa Strohl-Fern and Casina Vagnuzzi.

From 1870 it belongs to the Italian State, and it is planned to use it for the section of the Museo Nazionale di Villa Giulia.

Address:
Museo Nazionale Etrusco di Villa Giulia (National Museum of Villa Giulia/The National Etruscan Museum)
Piazzale di Villa Giulia, 9,
00196 Rome, Lazio, Italy
Shown By "Map B Zone" As "2"
More Details: Museo Nazionale Etrusco di Villa Giulia

As you visit 'Villa Poniatowsky, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Villa Giulia National Museum, Rome

It was realized for pope Julius III in 1551-55, by enlargement of his family property extending on the greatest part of the hills and plains between Porta del

Villa Giulia National Museum of Etruscan art, Rome

Rome owe the construction of the marvellous Villa Giulia, one of the most charming example of Renaissance art, to Pope Julius III, who in the half of the 16th

Galleria Nazionale D'Arte Moderna & Museo (National Gallery of Modern and Contemporary Art and Museum), Rome

The palace of the gallery was built in 1911 by Cesare Bazzani, and enlarged in 1933. It contains the most important in Italy collection of 19th-20th century

Casina Valadier Restaurant on the ancient Collis Hortulorum, the highest point of Pincio at Villa Borghese In Rome

Casina Valadier rises up on the ancient Collis Hortulorum, the highest point of Pincio, where in the past great Roman families owned the most sumptuous and

Villa Celimontana (Previously Villa Mattei): Park, Garden, Festival, Geographic Society

Previously it was Villa dei Mattei, dukes of Giove, acquired in 1553 by Giacomo and arranged by Ciriaco Mattei. The latter created gardens and picked a