Villas and Gardens

Villa Sciarra - Institute of German Studies

Villa Sciarra house, Rome, Italy This villa belonged to the Berberini's in 17th century and to the Sciarra's from 18th century till 1896 and in 1902 became a property of an American diplomat George Wurst, who's widow, very rich woman Enrichetta Tower Wurst, granted it to the city in 1932. When her husband died, Hernietta gave the villa to Benito Mussolini on condition that it would be a public garden. The...

Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa)

The Church of Saint Francis of Assisi ( Chiesa di San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa/ S.Francesco a Ripa) grew on the site of old hospice Ospizio di S.Biagio in which, as a tradition says, St.Francis once was a guest, at least during one of his numerous sojourns in Rome. The original church was transformed immediately after the canonization of S.Francesco in 1231 for the initiative...

Walks around Aventine Hill (Aventino)

Aventine Hill (Aventino) is one of the seven mythic Roman hills. Till the epoch of emperor Claudius the Aventine Hill was out of residential part of the city and was considered to be the better place for the cult and religion, so here the numerous sacred constructions were built. With the time the hill was populated by the merchants and people working for the down standing...

Savello Park - Orange Garden (Parco Savello - Giardino degli Aranci)

On the site of the Sevelli's stronghold, the family dominated in this zone in the 11th-13th centuries, was arranged in 1932 a little but very beautiful park with the orange trees and some ruins of past times among which is a little fountain with the heraldic symbols of pope Paul V. This garden is also known as Giardino degli Aranci (Garden of Oranges) and was created according...

Villa Malta & Garden (Villa del Priorato di Malta) on the Aventine Hill

This construction of Villa del Priorato di Malta on the Aventine Hill was built in 939 s a Benedictian monastery, it belonged to the monastery of the Chiesa dei SS.Bonifacio e Alessio from which was separated in 977. By the end of the 12th century the monastery became a property of the Templars, monks-warriors defenders of Christianity against Muslims. In 1312 the Order of...

Sangallo's Bastion & San Paolo Port (Bastione del Sangallo and Porta San Paolo/ Ostiense)

Porta Ostiense or Porta San Paolo The bastion was created by A.da Sangallo the Younger for the pope Paul III in 1537-1540 in terms of the project, which was later abandoned, to remake completely the fortified walls around Rome to protect the city against probable Muslim aggression. In this case the wall of Aventine Hill had to reach Porta S.Paolo. But the works were stopped for the economical reasons. The...

Resistenza Park (Parco della Resistenza) & Fountain of Anfore (Amphorae)

Entire zone of Porta S.Paolo is dedicated to the memory of Roman patriotism of September 9-10, 1943, when simple Romans and Sardinian grenadiers without a commander tried to resist to nazi forces and protect Rome in unequal fight. The hero of this tragic event was Raffaele Persichetti. The park is located behind a modern post-office building (next to the Pyramid of Cestius,...

Rione Testaccio - Via Marmorata: Discover Testaccio, Walk on Monte Testaccio (Testaccio Hill)

Rione Testaccio - Via Marmorata Via Marmorata The name of the street "Marmorata" confirms the existence of a huge deposit of marbles (marmo (it.) = marble) on the coast of the river in times when it was an ancient river port where all the building materials brought to Rome for imperial and other kinds of constructions where unloaded from the ships. In 1867-1870, in the epoch of Pius IX, in course of...

Farnese Gardens on the Palatine Hill (Orti Farnesiani sul Monte Palatino)

In the 16th century on the initiative of the Cardinal Alessandro Farnese a grand villa (Orti Farnesiani) was built on the Domus Tiberiana. The villa was almost completely destroyed later. These Farnese Gardens were realized by Vignola for the cardinal Alessandro Farnese, grandson of pope Paul III in 1520-1589, as a reconstruction in form of a garden, of the plan of the Palazzo...

House of Livia (Casa di Livia) on the Palatine Hill

It was a simple house in which emperor Augustus lived for 40 years with the modesty that his successors never knew. The Palatine hill was a residence zone preferred by the rich and noble representative of Roman society. Augustus enlarged his house and decorated its walls with the paintings. It bears the name of Livia, wife of Augustus. The House of Livia (Casa di Livia) at...

Colosseum or Flavian Amphitheatre (Anfiteatro Flavio o Colosseo)

It took only eight years to erect the greatest monument of ancient Rome. Its original name is Flavian Amphitheatre, because of the form of the construction as an amphitheatre and because it was built by emperors of the Flavian dynasty: Vespasian, Titus and Domitian. Vespasian begun it in 72 A.D., Titus completed the works in 80 A.D. and Domitian added the higher steps and some...

Domus Aurea - Nero’s Golden House

This enormous complex construction (50 hectares) compound of palaces, gardens and lake was erected by two architects of emperor Nero, Severus and Celerus, after the fire of Rome in 64 A.D. and expanded from the slopes of the Celian and Palatine till the Oppian and Esquiline Hills. The main part of the palace was on the site of the Palace of Tiberius and Caligula (Palazzo di...

Colle Oppio Park or Oppian Hill Park (Parco del Colle Oppio) next to the Colosseum

The Colle Oppio Park/ Oppian Hill Park (Parco del Colle Oppio) next to the Colosseum with the remnants of the "Domus Aurea" (Nero's villa) was created here in 1938 by the project of Raffaele De Vico with the goal to make an appropriate environment for the imposing ruins of the Baths of Trajan. In the Colle Oppio park near the Colosseum there are some ruins of the Terme di...

Antiquarium Comunale del Celio (Antiquarian House of Celio)

It was built in 1890 by architect F.Azzurri and arranged by professor Rodolfo Lanciani. The necessity to create an antiquarium was caused by endless quantity of archeological material discovered in all parts of the city during the excavations begun by the Italian state. In 1929 it was reconstructed by Antonio Munoz, but seriously damaged in course of construction of the Roman...

Villa Celimontana (Previously Villa Mattei): Park, Garden, Festival, Geographic Society

Previously it was Villa dei Mattei, dukes of Giove, acquired in 1553 by Giacomo and arranged by Ciriaco Mattei. The latter created gardens and picked a collection of ancient marbles; had G.Del Duca build a house in 1581-1586 and finally obtained from the Senators of Rome a 12m high Egyptian obelisk as a present. The obelisk stood beside the Convent of Aracoeli on the...